The Troop

If you’ve been reading my newsletter you probably know that I was honored to have won the 2007 Audelco Award for Best Actor in a Dramatic Production when I was in New York in November. What you may not know is that while I was there, I booked a pilot for Nickelodeon network, The Troop. Essentially it’s “Men in Black at a suburban high school” Today, I’ll share with you how I used the Mastering The Audition Actor’s Training Series to help me do it

Going to New York is always exciting so I decided to book a few extra days just in case something good came up. Sure enough, my manager called about a possible audition and wanted to know if I was available to go in. It never fails, as long as you keep busy people will want you because you exude a sense of personal power. I said “Sure”, downloaded the material and began to prepare.

The following contains meeting information for:

The Troop
Client: John Marshall Jones
Date: Tuesday, November 20, 2007
Time: 3:30 PM
Status: Gave to Actor
Role: Randall Stockley
32 – 50, MALE, ANY ETHNICITY. Mysterious and
unpredictable, he has a warm smile that can be shut off in an instant. An enigmatic leader of The Troop, he is an ally to the kids except for those brief moments when one’s not quite sure.

Prototypes: Tommy Lee Jones, Billy
Bob Thornton. SERIES REGULAR.

Material: Emailed
Appt With: Jill Greenberg Sands, Casting Nyc
Read For: CD on Tape
Location: Jill Greenberg
1515 Broadway, 38th Fl
New York City

Every casting person I’ve interviewed says two things make a great audition; preparation and confidence. I wasn’t going to be short on either.By now, I’m so familiar with the principles in the book that I do them automatically but here’s the basic idea

1. I read the material thoroughly.

2. I determined how long I needed to prepare to master the material.

3.I chose a relevant personal relationship to overlay onto the reader.

4. I dissected the scene into beats and dissected the beats into moments.

5. I called a friend to read with me so I could hear the material several times before I went in.

I do this ritual for EVERY audition. It fills me with confidence to know I’m totally prepared.

Tommy Lee Jones and Billy Bob Thornton? What do they have in common? Dry, deadpan delivery of very funny material. They choose to underplay the moments. They are the consummate straight men. What makes a great straight man? Timing. Knowing how to set up the joke. At Second City, we called it “feeding the scene”. This told me what style they wanted the material delivered in…so I gave it to them.

The following contains meeting information for:

The Troop

Client: John Marshall Jones
Date: Monday, November 26, 2007
Time: 2:00 PM
Status: Call Back
Role: Randall Stockley

Note: This is a call back with producers but will also be the
equivalent of a STUDIO TEST.

During the callback they really didn’t give me any new direction but that didn’t mean I could relax on my preparation. I tried to develop a deeper understanding of the character. I always look for one small element to add to the performance so that it’s just a little different than the last audition.

When I arrived, I signed in then separated myself from the other actors so I could have some room to just relax and focus. No chit chatting with the competition. We were signing contracts this day. I had enough to distract me. I was sharp when I got in the room. My extra preparation served me well.

JJ,

As discussed with Bobby, here is the extension agreement for “The Troop.” Please sign and fax or e-mail back.

We already had a W-9 on file for you, so we do not need a new one. Thanks.

Adrian

I can only say to you that the Mastering The Audition System works. It’s the most affordable way I know to give yourself an edge over your competition. Click the button below to hear our podcast! (itunes compatible)

This system will give you the tools you need to create a ritual of preparation. As you practice the ritual, you become more comfortable, focused, and CONFIDENT with each call back.

How good could you be if you were fully comfortable, focused and confident for every call back?

Would you work more if you did your best call back every time?

That’s what the Mastering The Audition Actor’s Training Series is designed to help you create. Put the CD in your car and you’ll turn travel time into training sessions. Download it to your iPod and while other actors at the audition are chatting off nervous energy, you can be listening to your
personal audition coach get you focused and ready to be your very best when you go in the room.

Finally, because it’s used for career training it’s also 100% tax deductible. There is absolutely NO RISK. The IRS guarantees you this deduction!

Click here to get started

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://learntoaudition.wordpress.com/2008/01/05/the-troop/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

